top of page

City Mayor


Josh verhagen

Joshua Verhagen was born and raised in Nenana, where he has spent most of his life working in the construction industry.


He attended UAF, and graduated with a Bachelors degree in East Asian Languages and Politics and an Associates degree in Drafting Technology.


Prior to being elected as Nenana City Mayor, he served on the City Council for just over a year. 

Director of Finance


Cheryl Fitka was hired May of 2022 as the Director of Finance. She was born in Bethel and raised in Mountain Village.


Cheryl attended Alaska Career College and has obtained her AAS Degree in Business and Computer Technology.

Prior to her position, with The City of Nenana, she was the Finance Director at her Tribe. 



Jeri was hired in June 2022 as the Municipal Clerk. She was born and raised in Nenana. 

Jeri's many years in customer service and friendly nature, make for a plesant experience for anyone calling or visiting the office. 

Nenana City Office

723 A St, Nenana AK
PO Box 70

Nenana City Council

City Council Members

Sheryl Turner

Seat A


Kari Irish

Seat B


Kat McElroy

Seat C


Jerry Thomas

Seat D


Jamie Hanson

Seat E


Karen Harvey

Seat F


The City Council meets at 6:30pm at the Community Civic Center on the second Tuesday of each month. Please look at our calendar for any updates or changes.

Senator Click Bishop (R)

Representative Mike Cronk (R)
bottom of page